Our Governing Body consists of up to 15 elected parental and non-parental Governors. The Unicorn School is a registered charity and a limited company: Governors are, therefore, trustees of the charity and board directors. Unicorn Governors work together as a team, being supportive of the School, yet also constructively critical.

Governors uphold the ethos and direction of the School and act as guardians of its assets (such as land, building, equipment, investments and cash). They meet as a main body at least once a term to receive a detailed report from the Head and reports from the various committees. Key issues are discussed and future strategy agreed, with the board having responsibility to approve the accounts, school development plan and risk documentation, as well as meet the School’s legal obligations (via overseeing compliance with all regulations from the Department for Education).

The Governors also oversee the leadership and management of the School and are responsible for hiring the Head and Bursar, both of whom report to the Chair of Governors.

For full details about the role of Unicorn School Governors, click here

Co Chairs: Geoff Bayliss and Mark Byatt
Company Secretary: Charles Mathias

Our Governors

Paul Aubery (Chair of Buildings Committee)

A current parent at the School, Paul has a business background in a variety of executive management and board roles in investment banking. He currently runs a Private Equity firm specialising in commercial real estate. He also has military experience. He is a Freeman of the City of London.

Geoff Bayliss (Co-Chair of Governors; member of the Finance Committee)

Geoff was a founding parent of the School and his wife is a former Headmistress of Unicorn. Prior to his retirement, Geoff worked as a Patent Attorney and was senior partner of a large London practice. He was also a magistrate for nearly three decades with a special interest in youth court work.

Mark Byatt (Co Chair of Governors and Chair of Risk & Compliance Committee)

Mark is a current parent and has a varied professional background including stints in technology consulting, business strategy, marketing/communications, and most recently, public policy and international affairs in the financial regulation space. 

Andy Chandler (Chair of the ICT Committee)

Andy is a current parent and has 20 years’ experience working in the tech industry from start-ups to the largest companies in the world.

Tom Ewing (Chair of the Finance Committee)

A current parent, Tom has a background in investment management and research in the City of London.

Henry Keighley-Elstub (Chair of the Education & Staffing Committee)

Henry is a non-parental governor. He has over twenty years’ experience teaching and leading in the independent preparatory sector. For the last seven years, he has been Head of Pembridge Hall School, a non-selective girls’ preparatory school in Notting Hill.

Stephen Lehec (member of the Education & Staffing Committee)

Stephen is a non-parent governor.  He is the Head of Kingston Grammar School and has a wealth of experience in the secondary education sector.  He also supports a number of charitable endeavours and is a keen sports coach. 

Paul O’Neill (member of Education & Staffing Committee)

Paul is a current parent. A maths teacher by training, he has worked on the Senior Leadership Teams of four Inner London Secondary Schools before appointment as the founding Headteacher of a state-maintained school in Lewisham. Most recently he was headmaster of a secondary school in Berkshire.

Iben Thomson (member of the Risk & Compliance Committee)

Iben is a former parent who is now a non-parent governor.  She is a qualified solicitor with over 25 years’ experience of commercial law including specialising in data protection law and information governance .

Katy Warner (Safeguarding Governor; member of the Education & Staffing, and Risk & Compliance Committees)

Katy recently moved from Kew and now teaches at a preparatory school in West Sussex. She acts as a non-parental governor and has an association to the School extending back over 20 years, initially as a parent and latterly as a teacher.

Jo Webbern (member of Education & Staffing Committee)

Jo is a non-parental governor. Following a teaching career at a number of independent schools, she recently retired after nine years as Head of the Pre-Prep of a large independent school in Hampshire.

Susan Willis (member of the Risk & Compliance Committee)

A current parent, Susan is a Consultant Urologist and has worked for twenty years in the NHS. As well as her clinical role, she is involved in undergraduate education & examinations, junior doctor training & supervision, and clinical governance.

Governor committees

There are five Governor committees, set up to cover particular work, with all Governors involved on one or more of them. These meet on a termly basis, sometimes more frequently.

A chair is appointed for each committee. The chair sets up meetings with agendas and minutes, liaises with the Chair of Governors and the Head on key issues, reports back to other Governors at termly meetings with debate on any specific issues, and co-ordinates all the workings of that committee. Each has agreed objectives and aims for the future that must be reviewed annually. The current chairs are:

(Chair – Tom Ewing)
Building: (Chair – Paul Aubery)
Education and Staffing: (Chair – Henry Keighley-Elstub)
Risk and Compliance: (Chair – Mark Byatt)
IT: (Chair – Andy Chandler)

Any correspondence for The Co Chairs of Governors should be addressed, c/o The School Office, Unicorn School, 238 Kew Road, Richmond, TW9 3JX and marked ‘Private & Confidential‘.